Welcome to Moorcock's Miscellany

Dear reader,

Many people have given their valuable time to create a website for the pleasure of posing questions to Michael Moorcock, meeting people from around the world, and mining the site for information. Please follow one of the links above to learn more about the site.

Thank you,
Reinart der Fuchs
See more
See less

Bram Stoker Award for Mike

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Governor of Rowe Island
    Orgone Accumulator
    • Aug 2004
    • 5266

    Bram Stoker Award for Mike

    This story comes from here.

    Press Release Source: Horror Writers Association

    Writers Honored at 18th Annual Bram Stoker Awards
    Tuesday June 28, 5:20 am ET
    - The Horror Writers Association (HWA) Honors Excellence in Horror Writing
    - Honors Lifetime Achievement of Author Michael Moorcock at Gala Event in Los Angeles

    LOS ANGELES, JUNE 28 /PRNewswire/ -- Saturday night the Horror Writers Association (HWA) honored excellence in horror by presenting this year's Bram Stoker Awards at its annual banquet and ceremony in Los Angeles. Best-selling authors David Morrell, Clive Barker and Chuck Palahniuk were on hand for the festivities. Morrell served as Toastmaster. Palahniuk's story, "Guts," was a nominee. Barker's book, "Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War," won in the Work for Young Readers category.

    "HWA's members considered hundreds of new works of horror before winnowing them down to the fifteen honored tonight. The talent in this genre is stunning," said Joe Nassise, President of HWA. "So much material is considered, it's an honor to appear on the final ballot, let alone to take home the award. It's especially meaningful for writers because it's the only award in horror given by their peers. They've created truly outstanding works, even by the high literary standards of their fellow writers."

    Others honored at the banquet included Peter Straub, for his novel "In the Night Room;" John Everson and Lee Thomas for their first novels "Covenant" and "Stained" respectively; Kealan-Patrick Burke for his long fiction work, "The Turtle Boy"; Nancy Etchemendy for her story "Nimitseahpah" the short fiction category; Thomas F. Monteleone for his fiction collection "Fearful Symmetries;" Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link, and Gavin Grant for their editing of the anthology "The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror, 17th Annual;" Judi Rohrig for "Hellnotes" newsletter in the nonfiction category; Jai Nitz for his illustrated narrative script "Heaven's Devils;" film writers Charlie Kaufman, Michel Gondrey and Pierre Bismuth received the screenplay award for "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," and screenwriters Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright Studio tied in the same category for the script for "Shaun of the Dead;" tying with Clive Barker in the Work for Young Readers category, Steve Burt won for his book "Oddest Yet;" Corrine De Winter received the award in poetry for her chapbook "The Women at the Funeral;" and Tom Piccirilli's poetry anthology, "The Devil's Wine," won in the Alternative Forms category.

    This year, the Horror Writers Association presented its highest honor, the Bram Stoker Lifetime Achievement Award to best-selling author Michael Moorcock. A prolific British writer and editor, Moorcock became editor of Tarzan Adventures at the young age of 16. Writing and editing in a variety of genres during the last fifty years, Moorcock has won many of speculative fiction's top awards, including the World Fantasy Award, the August Derleth Award, the Nebula Award, the British Fantasy Award, and the John W. Campbell Award. His 1969 novel The Black Corridor is considered one of horror's best. Due to health concerns, Mr. Moorcock was unable to attend the ceremony. His long-time friend Harlan Ellison accepted on his behalf.

    THE HORROR WRITERS ASSOCIATION (HWA) is a worldwide organization of writers and publishing professionals dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. HWA was formed in the late 1980's with the help of many of the field's greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe R. Lansdale. Today, it is the oldest and most respected professional organization devoted to the genre.
    Congratulations, Mike.
    You see, it's... it's no good, Montag. We've all got to be alike. The only way to be happy is for everyone to be made equal.


    Image Hive :-: Wikiverse :-: Media Hive

    :-: Onsite Offerings :-:

    "I am an observer of life, a non-participant who takes no sides. I am in the regimented society, but not of it." Moondog, 1964
  • PsychicWarVeteran
    Flesh Bag of Mostly Water
    • Mar 2004
    • 2554

    Yes, congrats Mike!

    By the way, for those who missed it, we first got wind of this achievement [broken link]a couple months ago and Mike replied (as Shudderchooser) that he was looking for someone to accept it for him as he will be unavailable.

    He also made some funny comments about Lifetime Achievement awards. [broken link]Have a look if you haven't already. :)
    Last edited by Rothgo; 04-12-2010, 04:12 AM.
    "Wounds are all I'm made of. Did I hear you say that this is victory?"
    --Michael Moorcock, Veteran of the Psychic Wars


    • Poetgrrl
      Defender of the Runestaff
      • Aug 2004
      • 357

      Oooh, I didn't see that earlier thread! Thank you for posting it here.

      And CONGRATULATIONS again, Mike!!


      • RitaMaria
        Denizen of Moo Uria
        • Apr 2005
        • 129

        Congratulations, Mike. It is all I can say. Congratulations to "the man who dreamt the Multiverse". :)

        For this reason and other ones, all we will be forever multiversally thankful to the Gods because you exist.